Evicting unruly border tenants

I'm not sure which is the worse eyesore - the broken bench or the brambles.  Yeah, the sad seat!

I’m not sure which is the worse eyesore – the broken bench or the brambles. Yeah…OK..the sad seat!

I probably should have started my increased gardening endeavour with fun tasks like planting bulbs or installing new garden furniture. Instead I have been locked in a battle to clear out some plants that I once thought nice. Brambles! I will never forget my excitement upon seeing the first blackberry in the garden a few years ago…lovely free fruit volunteers growing in my untended borders. Lucky me! The only problem was that there were too few berries to satiate my family’s berry love. So I let them roam and hoped for more the next year. Last year was the first summer where our garden brambles kept up with our eating. I must admit it was nice to watch the kids foraging in the garden, and our weekly crumbles were divine. However, the growing brambles (aka barbed wire) winding it’s was through my hydrangeas, peonies, roses and azaleas are NOT nice. So, this year I have tasked myself with removing them from my borders. After some thorough web searching for chemical-free ways to clear brambles, I decided to use the snipping root method described here. The only problem for me is that this isn’t really sexy work so I haven’t been as motivated as I should be. Plus it’s been wet, dark, cold yada yada yada.

The next thick-stemmed sucker to come out!

The next thick-stemmed sucker to come out!

The good news is that I have taken out about half of the brambles in my garden.  Next tenant to evict will the one I’ve battled with for the past 5 years.  The Japanese anemone!  But I might first do something more fun and satisfying like planning out and planting a soft fruit patch before thinking about the anemones.

Leave a Reply

