Happy Earth Day!

Despite the rain that has come down steadily all day today, I have had a glorious Earth Day!   There are lots of cucamelon, herb, pumpkin and tomato seedlings in the propagator ready to pot on, and tomatillo, poblano chilli pepper and epazote plants in pots ready to go outside.  This rainy spell is a good opportunity for me to put them in our cold stairwell for a few days to harden off a wee bit before planting in the garden.  I had been prepared to be mean and put them straight into the soil from my flat windowsill!  But I will just sow a few more seeds this rainy week to make up for not getting into the garden.

The weather was glorious over the Easter holiday, so I took full advantage of it and my sore back is feeling the brunt of my efforts.  But I now have a fully aerated, turned and relocated compost heap, with lots of lovely fresh compost worked into a fluffed-up bed ready for to plant out my seedlings.  Here’s what my tomatillos looked like a month ago, and now they are starting to develop flower buds.  They’ll need cross pollination to bloom, so it’s quite important that I get them outside soon for the bees to do their thing.

Early April tomatillo seedling

Same tomatillo seedlings just 2 weeks later after a repotting

Same tomatillo seedlings just 2 weeks later after a repotting

Leave a Reply

