They might be giants – Sequoiadendron giganteum

Many of my fondest childhood memories took place while spending summers camping in the northern California redwood forests.  Standish Hickey was our family campground of choice, and I long for the steep trail (known affectionately in my family as “cardiac hill”) down to the Eel River and wading into the fish filled swimming hole.

IMG_6866

I would like my children to share in these memories, but sadly, the wee redwood groves in the UK have young 100-year old trees, and they usually come in clumps of 5 or 20 trees.  The Scottish climate seems like it would be perfect for redwoods, so I wonder why there aren’t more of them growing about here.

After a particularly strong hankering to grow my own redwood, I finally bought some Sequoiadendron giganteum seed.   Now, I should note that I have collected seeds from countless pine cones here in the UK, and tried my hardest to germinate them several times, including soaking seeds, putting them in the refrigerator, and never had even one hint of sprouting.  So, I figured buying seed would likewise be a waste of time and money.  Perhaps our young trees here haven’t yet reached maturity in their seeds?  Perhaps my pine cones were just duds?

IMG_7253

19 May 2014 Sequoiadendron giganteum seedlings

IMG_7257

20 May 2014 Sequoiadendron giganteum seedlings

 

However, I am SOO excited that a few of my store-bought seeds have indeed germinated!  I will now need to quickly find some nice homes for these wee fellas so that they can start to lay roots some place safe to grow into giants.  Fingers are crossed that they continue to grow and can be potted on easily.

19 May 2014 Sequoiadendron giganteum seedlings

19 May 2014 Sequoiadendron giganteum seedlings

20 May 2014 Sequoiadendron giganteum seedlings

20 May 2014 Sequoiadendron giganteum seedlings

Leave a Reply

